Thursday, May 14, 2009

elections results 2009

elections results 2009 | elections result 2009 |elections live updates 2009

N. Gopalaswami, had stated on December 28, 2008, that the elections were likely to be held between April and May 2009.[5] He attributed this schedule to the examination period from February to March, making polling places unavailable. [6]

On January 31, 2009, fractures within the Election Commission came to the fore when N. Gopalaswami recommended to the President of India Pratibha Patil that Election Commissioner Navin Chawla be sacked for behaving in a partisan manner elections results 2009 . This recommendation in itself was controversial, as it was unclear if the Chief Election Commissioner has the legal and constitutional right to provide such a unilateral recommendation.[7] As expected, Chawla refused to resign as he was expected to take over the post of Chief Election Commissioner a few months later elections results 2009 .[8]

The above controversy also resulted in speculation that the Election Commission was unable to agree on the polling dates, with the incumbent elections results 2009 CEC Gopalaswami preferring that at least one phase of elections be held before his retirement on April 20, 2009. Navin Chawla, on the other hand, wanted the election to only start after Gopalaswami retired.[9]

Eventually, on March 1, 2009, elections results 2009 President Patil, as was widely expected, rejected Gopalaswami's recommendation to sack Chawla after the Government advised her to do so.[10]

Soon after the above announcement by President Patil, the Election Commissioners put aside their differences and got together on March 2, 2009 to announce the details of the general election.

Subsequently, the President's House announced on March 4, elections results 2009 2009 that the incumbent CEC N. Gopalaswami would retire as scheduled on April 20, 2009 and Navin Chawla would take over as CEC starting April 21, 2009.[11] For the first time in the history of Indian politics, two different people will oversee different phases of the same election.[12]


Post a Comment